Local Sports

(Photo Courtesy of WIU Athletic Communications)


The WIU Women's Basketball Team (23-6) (13-3 Summit League) cleaned up with the Summit League awards. Western had players capture a Player of the Year award, Newcomer of the Year award, two first-team players, one second-team player, and two all-newcomer team players. Head Coach JD Gravina also took home Coach of the Year honors. 


Player of the Year: Emily Clemens (19.2 PPG, 7.1 APG, 3.9 RPG, 2.5 SPG)


-The junior point guard was also named an All Summit League First Team selection


-Clemens becomes the 5th player in Western history to earn the award, joining Oberon Pitterson (1994-95), Tiffany Cornelius (2003-04), Zane Teilane (2004-05, 2005-06) and Ashley Luke (2014-15). 


-Her points per game, assists per game, steals per game, minutes per game (37), assist/turnover ratio (2.5) and free throw percentage (87.9%) marks all led the Summit League
-She was named Summit League Player of the Week 5 times during the year (Nov. 21, Nov. 28, Dec. 12, Feb. 6 and Feb. 27)
Coach of the Year: JD Gravina 
-Western has tied a program record with 23 wins this year (this can be surpassed in postseason play) with the '05-06 team.
-WIU led the Summit League in points (80.4), rebounds (38.3), assists (18.1), steals (11.4), blocks (4.7) and fewest turnovers (13.0) per game. 
Newcomer/Transfer of the Year: Morgan Blumer (16.8 PPG, 6.3 RPG)
-The junior forward was also named to Summit League All Newcomer Team
-Her scoring average was the 2nd best on the team and 3rd best in the Summit League 
-She set a new program record for three-pointers made in a season with 75
-Played her first year for Western as a transfer from Florida Gulf Coast
All-Second Team Player: Taylor Higginbotham (14.6 PPG, 5.5 RPG, 2.9 APG, 2.0 SPG)
-The Sophomore was 8th in the Summit League in points and 3rd in steals per game
-Higginbotham earned Summit League Player of the Week January 9
All Newcomer Team Player: Olivia Braun (8.1 PPG, 4.9 RPG, 2.3 APG, 2.9 BPG)
-The Junior led the Summit League in blocks 
-Braun transfered in from Toledo
2016-17 Summit League All First Team Awards
Allison Arens, South Dakota
Morgan Blumer, Western Illinois
Emily Clemens, Western Illinois
Madison Guebert, South Dakota State
Danielle Lawrence, IUPUI
Kerri Young, South Dakota State
2016-17 Summit League All Second Team Awards
Taylor Higginbotham, Western Illinois
Faith Ihim, Oral Roberts
Mikale Rogers, IUPUI
Mikaela Shaw, Omaha
Ellie Thompson, South Dakota State
2016-17 Summit League All Newcomer Team Awards
Morgan Blumer, Western Illinois
Olivia Braun, Western Illinois
Michaela Dapprich, Omaha
Ciara Duffy, South Dakota
Sarah Jacobson, North Dakota State